At St. Peter’s, the Board of Deacons is a dynamic group, charged with visiting those who are elderly, home/hospital bound, sick, or in distress; organizing meals for those who are ill or grieving; delivering donations to local food pantries; assisting with communion; hosting coffee/hospitality hour; and leading mission efforts including the fair trade coffee project.  Deacons are typically elected to a three-year term and may be re-elected, but may not serve more than 6 years consecutively.  The deacons ordinarily meet once a month.

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry. (Book of Order, G-2.0201)

Deacons may be individually commissioned or organized as a board of deacons. In either case, their ministry is under the supervision and authority of the church council. Deacons may also be given special assignments in the congregation, such as caring for members in need, handling educational tasks, cultivating liberality in giving, collecting and disbursing monies to specific persons or causes, or overseeing the buildings and property of the congregation. Deacons shall assume other duties as may be delegated to them by the session, including assisting with the Lord’s Supper. (Book of Order, W-­3.3616)

2021 Deacons:

Beth Cozzolino – Co-chair

Joel Dyslin

Kathy Geddie

Jennifer Lippert – Co-chair

Mitzi Lobdell